Control Objectives for Information and Related Technology (COBIT) is a framework created by ISACA for information technology (IT) management and IT Governance. It is a supporting toolset that allows managers to bridge the gap between control requirements, technical issues and business risks. COBIT enables clear policy development and good practice for IT control throughout organizations. COBIT emphasizes regulatory compliance, helps organizations to increase the value attained from IT, enables alignment and simplifies implementation of the enterprises’ IT governance and control framework.

In June 2012 ISACA released the latest version: COBIT 5. This version incorporates the latest thinking in enterprise governance and management techniques, and provides worldwide accepted principles, practices, analytical tools and models to help increase the trust in, and value from, information systems. COBIT 5 builds and expands on COBIT 4.1 by integrating other major frameworks, standards and resources, including ISACA’s Val IT and Risk IT, Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL®) and related standards from the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).

The focus of COBIT 5 is on processes, that are divided by governance and management areas. These two areas contain a total of 5 domains with 3 letter names, and a total of 37 processes:

Governance of Enterprise IT

  • Evaluate, Direct and Monitor (EDM) – 5 processes

Management of Enterprise IT

  • Align, Plan and Organise (APO) – 13 processes
  • Build, Acquire and Implement (BAI) – 10 processes
  • Deliver, Service and Support (DSS) – 6 processes
  • Monitor, Evaluate and Assess (MEA) – 3 processes


COBIT 5 Foundation

Book Course

IT Governance: How to align your IT Strategy with the Business' Strategy

View Webinar


"*" geeft vereiste velden aan

Dit veld is bedoeld voor validatiedoeleinden en moet niet worden gewijzigd.


Gijs-Jan Huisman

Regional Director EMEA +44 (0)7850 776 090